No Commingled Recyclables – A Little Diddy…

Posted: December 21, 2012 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , ,

by Tim Braun

I’m not blown away by song writers.  I mean people who write the words.  Now, I AM a little blown away by people that write the music.  Every time I have ever tried to do THAT part of the process the hook always comes across sounding like “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” or the ‘A-B-C’ song.  Either one of them.

But the words?  Please.  Anyone can write lyrics.  Just follow the pattern:

Verse
Verse
Chorus
Verse
Chorus
2-Line Mini-Hook
Chorus
Chorus (without music)
Chorus

To prove the ease of this, I’ll pick a random phrase and write a song.  And I’ll time how long it takes me.  The random phrase I choose is one of my favorites – No Commingled Recyclables.  Rolls off the tongue AND the table….  And time starts……now:

First you need to rhyme lines 2 & 4 of each verse:

VERSE 1
I’m as green as a frog in a swamp
If I wasn’t, my senses would be dulled.
So I put my cans in the right hole,
For me no commingled recyclables.

VERSE 2
It’s important to save the planet
And just as important for our kids
For if we don’t provide a future
We may as well just hit the skids.

OK, pause before I bring in the chorus to report that I’m at 1 minute, 30 seconds.  It took me a little longer to rhyme recyclables that I had intended – ‘mulls’ didn’t roll off the literary tongue.  On with the chorus:

CHORUS
Cans in the round hole…
Brown plastic in another….
Hug your earth and planet,
Hug your sister and brother.
Hug your sister and brother.

Like how I repeated that last line for emphasis?  That’s art, baby.  Pure unadulterated art.  Back to the third verse:

VERSE 3
So the next time you see a tree,
Know that we’re saving the earth.
Go ahead and recycle separately
And enjoy your kids great mirth.

CHORUS
Cans in the round hole…
Brown plastic in another….
Hug your earth and planet,
Hug your sister and brother.
Hug your sister and brother.

Now this is the tricky part – we have to throw in a two-line mini-hook that builds up to the crescendo of the chorus repeated over and over and over again.  This is the HEART of the song – where the singer professes his love of his pickup truck, dog, woman, brother, clergyman, (insert your tag here).

MINI-HOOK
Throw away your McDonald’s wrappers correctly
Throw away your Dominoooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssssssssss tooooooooooo!

NOTE:  Hold that last line for dramatic purposes.  VERY important.

CHORUS
Cans in the round hole…
Brown plastic in another….
Hug your earth and planet,
Hug your sister and brother.
Hug your sister and brother.

And just two more chorususus before we’re fading into oblivion.  But it’s crucial that this next repetition be sung without accompanying instruments.  This adds grandeur and fortitude to an otherwise pointless song:

CHORUS (sung softly without instrumentation)
Cans in the round hole…
Brown plastic in another….
Hug your earth and planet,
Hug your sister and brother.
Hug your sister and brother.

And finally – all of the instruments come in loud and strong for the final repetition of the chorus.  All will fade at the final brother:

CHORUS (sung loudly with full-on musical magic)
Cans in the round hole…
Brown plastic in another….
Hug your earth and planet,
Hug your sister and brother.
Hug your sister and brother.

Done.  10 minutes.  Hit song.  Boom.   And I wasn’t particularly motivated by a penetrating need for recycling.  That’s the great thing about poetry/song writing – you don’t have to even feel for the subject.  You just have to know how to rhyme.

Don’t be surprised to hear this one day.  I’m only afraid that it will somehow sound like “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star.”

Comments
  1. Kari says:

    Dramatic pause very important. I think you have found your next career that does not involve spreadsheets. (I, on the other hand, continue to be impressed by, “Before you came into my life, I missed you so so bad.” Brilliant.) –K

    Like

  2. dcbraun says:

    OK – I’ll put it here…”dulled” and “recyclables”? How has nobody mentioned this “rhyme”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

