My God….What a Fantastically Well-Lit Hallway

Posted: January 12, 2013 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , ,

By Tim Braun

I mean – it was just a dirty hallway with a bright light.  But he turned it into a Disneyland on steroids.  If only we all had that same exuberance and zest for life.  This message today is about nothing but positive people and the great role model they give us.  Surprised?  Do you miss my normal negative spin on things?  Don’t worry – I’m sure it will be back soon.  But for just today, let’s talk Chick-Fil-A, Alec Baldwin and all things good.

I’ll admit that I’m not a HUGE fan of Chick-Fil-A’s food.  It’s OK.  My family loves it.  And I go along with them most of the time just because it’s seriously one of the most shockingly sweet places you’ll ever go – drive thru or eat-in – it doesn’t matter.  They treat you like they honestly WANT to keep dipping their hands in the hot grease just to make YOUR day better.  How do they even do that?   They act like your best friend and have never been rude or nasty to anyone I’ve ever seen.  Sure, there was the problem a couple of months ago with the CEO’s stance on gays, but seriously – every time I’ve taken a stance on gays, straights, blacks, whites, Lutherans, Methodists, it’s always the same response – “Get your foot the heck off of me”.  And I do.  And they’re happy again.  So I assume the CEO simply stepped off the gays with a friendly smile and a cheerful ‘It WAS our pleasure to serve you’.

We have a guy at my office that should be the King of Chick-Fil-A.  He’s seriously the nicest guy I’ve ever met.  I’m sure he works at Chick-Fil-A on the weekends (well, not Sunday I guess).  I’ve seen/been in meetings with him probably 5 times in my life, and he came into the latest meeting and gave me what I like to call the ‘grope and grab’….a full two-handed chest & back grab.  Not content to just shake my hand, he walked up to where I was sitting and put his right hand on my upper chest and slapped my back with his open left hand.  This was accompanied with a throaty and devil-may-care “How ya’ doing buddy?”  I was overwhelmed with the smell of courtesy and rose petals in the air, tinged with just a touch of Old Spice.

King CFA has a habit of throwing some sayings out that I haven’t heard in a long, long time, which seems to be a common quality of super-nice people.  Like they are stuck in 1948 or something (peruse my first blog and search for references to  ‘Bob’.)   We were looking at some numbers and he actually said “Well….they look pretty damn skippy to me”.  I mean who says that????  I tell you who – the nicest damn man on the planet.  When asked about an impending deadline, the phrase “the pucker factor” was uttered not once, but twice.  Uttered in the most friendly, Grandma-baking-pies-and-putting-them-on-the-window-sill-for-the-neighborhood-curmudgeons-to-steal kind of way.  I love this guy.

Which brings me back to the title of this chapter of my head.  The quote about the hallway was spoken by Alec Baldwin when he played a boyfriend of Phoebe’s on Friends.  He was so overwhelmingly positive it drove everyone away – and yes, eventually drove Phoebe away too.  Hhe hears about the place where they are heading for a party and comes out with, “Massapequa, sounds like a magical place.  Tell me about Massapequa, is it steeped in Native American history?”  When shown a picture of a dog and told that it had passed away several years ago – he looks longingly at the picture and says “Oh well, you were lucky to have him.  Bow-wow old friend.  Bow-wow.”

So what do all of these people have in common?  They are positive people that you just look at and wonder why you can’t be more like them.  What would it hurt to be positive when you really want to be negative?  Someone asked me why I was doing this blog – and that’s the actual answer.  Even when I’m being oddly negative, I’m still trying to be positive – whether it be about my splinters, or home remedies, or a stupid word or phrase somewhere – overall I just want it to portray a positive glimpse of the insanity that goes swirls around both inside and outside our heads every second of every day.   There is ALWAYS something funny to write about and hopefully always someone to read it.  As Baldwin said when shown Phoebe’s apartment:

“It’s a haven.  A third-floor paradise.  A modern-day Eden in the midst….”

Thanks for continuing to read my third-floor paradise…

Comments
  1. Linda says:

    Always look for the good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

