The Schmuckiness of Mother’s Day

Posted: May 14, 2013 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , , ,

First of all let me say that in the ranking of parents, I’d put “mothers” at either first or a very close second – so there will be no disparaging of them in this blog.   What I am disparaging are the lemmings that wait until the last minute to get the traditional cards and flowers and think that it gets them out of doing the laundry another week.  To that end – I give you the traditional card aisle on Mother’s Day at 11:00am in Target:

 target_1

As you can tell, the one guy even brought his kid to partake in the fun.  He obviously doesn’t look REAL happy to be there or for his picture to be taken.  So moving quickly on to Walgreen’s:

 walgreens_1

Equally as depressing.  All of these schmucks woke up, had breakfast, read the paper, checked their email, and then thought – “Hey – since I’ve put absolutely no thought into this up until this point – I’ll go out and get a meaningless piece of cardboard to write something on, instead of taking the time to make my wife/mother feel special.”   Hallmark-lovers take note, I have no problem with cards in general (well, actually I do but that’s for another day) just those bought because they are supposed to be bought.

On a side note, we have a person at work retiring very soon and the card that was passed around to sign was at least 2 feet by 3 feet in size.  What exactly is the point of that?   And of course the card has a cutesy message that said something like “Since We’ll Miss You SOOOOOO BIG…..”  I’m sure the retiree will be very happy with it.  So of course I signed my name in 6-inch block letters since apparently she now has gone partially blind and can’t handle a normal-sized card.  And yes, I said those exact words.

OK, back to Mother’s Day.  The traditional restaurant trip.  Here is a picture of Olive Garden getting ready for Mother’s Day lunch:

 olive_garden

Why would you even put yourself through this?  How about making a nice home-cooked meal for your loved one?  Or even go to a small, out-of-the-way restaurant that won’t attract a crowd.  But to force your mother/wife into a long, drawn-out, line-waiting experience at a chain restaurant?  There has GOT to be a better way of showing your love for them.

Full disclosure – I’ve been VERY blessed to have both a mother and a wife who both appreciate the small things and don’t expect (or even want) all of this.  A home-cooked meal from the kids and I, breakfast in bed, watching a movie while laying on the couch.  THAT’s what Mother’s Day should be about – the small things that make THEM feel special.

Not the $11.99 All-You-Can-Eat Pasta Bowl at Olive Garden.  Soapbox – DISMOUNT!

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    I have trained you well. It should for all, as it is for me, be a special mothers day all year long.

    Like

  2. David says:

    WalMart, 8-9 Sunday morning, AT LEAST a dozen dad’s in varying states of dress/cleanliness, each with a child anywhere from 2-8, each at the register with a card and flower, and, for once, I was thinking the exact same thing you wrote.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    I totally agree with you Tim! However, I did receive a very meaningful and full of love card from my wonderful daughter

    Like

Leave a Reply

