You Are An Idiot….Best Regards, Eddie

Posted: April 13, 2014 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It has finally happened. After publishing 83 posts over the last year and a half, I have received my first ‘hate mail’. Well, ‘hate comment’. At first, I was mildly peeved. The effrontery of people.  Someone has questioned my well thought-out words and opinions? How DARE they.scolding2

Then I began thinking about it and it hit me that this was a GOOD thing. Not only does it mean that people are actually reading my blog for content (rather than just being nice to me) but it also means that I actually get MORE blog fodder to feed my insatiable desire for writing out something every 4 or 5 days. Negative comments can be my FRIEND. I will love them, I will learn from them and yes, I will rub their fur backwards.

My most popular (well, most read…) blog by far is the one I did entitled ‘Hating On Wegmans’ – a northeastern grocery store that I absolutely despise. Apparently I have ticked off one Rochesterian (Rochesterite?) so much so that they would leave the following comment:

That’s why Wegmans just won the #1 grocery chain once again. My son is a chef their, my cousin has worked their for 30 years and another cousin got a scholarship at St . John Fisher. If you are more than a cashier or stock boy, they are a “family” that takes care of their employees. They bring amazing events to a Rochester and donate millions to local charities. You are an idiot.

scolding1I’m not going to pick apart Eddie’s (that’s the name that pops into my head for my critic above) potentially harmful use of the wrong spelling of ‘their/there’ several times, and I certainly won’t comment that even Eddie admits that being a cashier and a stock boy doesn’t qualify you to be one of the “family” at Wegmans. What I find amazing is that apparently he searched out a blog on ‘Hating On Wegmans’ to calmly and rationally explain that I was an idiot for differing from his opinion.

So Eddie, I apologize for insinuating that even cashiers and stock boys should be made to feel like they are part of the family. They obviously should be low-level grunts and be made to feel like second- class citizens. I applaud you for bringing that to our attention and for supporting this blog. I hope you also had a chance to visit other of my blogs that dealt with certain bathroom issues, my sweet tea adventures, and of course the blue people of Kentucky. God forbid one of those blue people I wrote about tried to get a job at Wegmans.

This week I am going to try to summon up all of my chutzpa and audacity and head to the next place on my ‘Most Hated’ list. Eddie has forced me to take a second look at myself and I see a need for more investigative reporting. So I’m going to climb in my truck, search in their parking lot for hours to find a spot, sit in their gas line for 15 minutes to save 5 cents a gallon, and buy 20 pounds of Cheerios because I don’t need them. All for you – the readers. And especially for Eddie.

costco

That’s right. I’m heading to Costco. Stay tuned…

Comments
  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    You know you’ve made it when you get a troller. Glad it’s unleashed a spark of inspiration in you, though Costco may not feel the same…

    Like

  2. CD says:

    Their vs there, there vs their…..like fingernails on a chalkboard to me. I hope you got to enjoy your hater on an a super gloomy day, over a sweet tea and a hamburger. That is as close to heaven for you as any living person could be.

    Like

  3. Oh, I wish you well- Costco always makes me want to hyperventilate (not in a good way)

    Like

Leave a Reply

