Workplace Confusion #1

Posted: November 28, 2014 in Tim Braun

I received an email with the below headline recently from my company. I sat and looked at it a long time before it made any sense to me. That apparently didn’t work at all because, in fact, it never made any sense to me and still doesn’t. I’m chalking it up to my company trying to be ultra-modern and ultra-politically correct at the same time. Without further ado, the headline:

Inclusion Begins With Us: Employees Urged to ‘Self-identify’

If you have to put literal air quotes in a headline, then you probably need to change the wording.

Ok, I’m off to self-identify.

Comments
  1. Oh my gosh, in this short posting, you have managed to make me feel so much better about my job and where I work. I am sure your ability to “self-identify” will be crucial to your company’s success, so I hope it is going well.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    That sounds a bit like mind control. I’d be careful if I were you…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good grief.
    So did the rest of the email make any sense?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. writerinsoul says:

    As what??

    But um, if the unidentified are *already* being “included” (and I’m assuming they are as they are being taken for regular shmucks, I mean employees) why would they need to draw attention to themselves for special treatment?

    The only thing I can think is if somebody needs an “accommodation” of some sort (a large font monitor, a handicapped bathroom stall, a donut station), they’re supposed to identify themselves to get it.

    Tis a puzzlement!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

