Ode to Something Brown Found on the Carpet at Night

Posted: February 17, 2015 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , ,

The night emanates it’s dark, sleepy wonder
And the cold wind howls down the holler
The kids are all asleep in their beds
Huddled in blankets to their collar.

A late night foray becomes a need
As I stumble out of the blankets so warm
Trying not to wake the wife and dogsnight
Seriously – it’s like a stupid farm.

I creep across the darkened floor
Stealthily and sleepily I slowly slink.
Deftly avoiding fallen clothes and phones
Into the next room I sink.

On the way back an object catches my eye.
I somehow missed this on the way in.
An obscure familiar brown shape;
But a shape that shakes all men.

For you see when you have two dogs
You get used to gathering their remains.
It’s a horrible chore and quite unpleasant
But unfortunately a common refrain.

I slink slowly in the dark towards the shape
Hoping against hope as to its source
I slowly reach down with a probing fingerleaf
Letting my senses determine the course.

The finger approaches the brown shape
Quivering in anticipation of the finger-feel.
Praying for a miracle of miracles to occur
While determining the best way to deal.

Contact… a slight push. No give at all.
The finger-feel makes my heart soar.
With an exaggerated sigh of happiness
I realize a leaf has found its way to the floor.

With a relieved sigh I rise from the carpet
And snuggle back into the cozy bed.
Another crisis has been averted,
As I try to shake the fear from my head.

Comments
  1. I loved this!! (although I see the body function trend is continuing with these postings 🙂 ). I especially liked the line “Seriously- it’s like a stupid farm”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. April Braun says:

    What is wrong with you! WHY would you use your finger to investigate? Ewww. I really hope that is artistic license and not truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Ha, you may have dodged a poo bullet this time, but next time you might not be so lucky…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. David says:

    Yes, seriously, you reached down with your finger?! Remember the story of a family that had to stay at a hotel in Indianapolis during a snowstorm over holidays, with their dog? Waking up the next morning, with only a bathroom light on, son #1 sees something on the floor and is convinced that the housebroken dog went poo in the room. The dad decides to get up and turn on a light, and, voila, it’s a comb!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

