Signs? Signs? Everywhere Signs?

Posted: March 18, 2015 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m a big fan of signs. They can inform. They can entertain. They can instruct. However, I’d have to say that there are some makers of signs that really shouldn’t be making signs. What they probably should be doing is sitting and watching webcams all day and chuckling to themselves at the sheer fun of stalking unknown others. Yet someone has obviously told them that they are qualified and capable of putting their work in front of dozens, or hundreds, or even thousands of people.   I’ve gathered some examples of these over the last few months and I present them now for your reading pleasure.

Example Uno from my workplace:

sign1

This is prime example of someone making a sign that should be restrained from doing exactly that. There are so many things I could pick apart on this “friendly” message. From the double exclamation marks at the end of each sentence to the random capitalization thrown in to stress a certain word, this sign causes me to stop and shake my lonely little head every time I see it. At least everything is spelled correctly, but I’m still puzzling over almost every other aspect of this sign.

I have to be honest with you – I know the person who typed up this sign.  This is the same person that sends emails out with random spat-out question marks at the end of a non-question sentence, thus causing me to probe my inner recesses to try to read the email in a questioning matter. “I will do that as soon as I’m able?” The only reason I can think of is that he has the rare Rupus-Schmeckel Syndrome that causes your pinky finger to shoot out completely on its own – depressing the question mark key by accident at random occasions.

Speaking of depressing, Example B of a poor sign:

button1

This isn’t really a ‘bad’ sign necessarily, but I stood in front of this button for at least 20 seconds and verbally abused it to the point where any normal object would have been crying, and absolutely nothing happened. It’s obviously not clear on HOW you need to depress it….verbal abuse didn’t impact it. Perhaps playing the Johnny Cash cover of Nine Inch Nails song ‘Hurt’ would do it. Perhaps watching Mr. Bean’s car being smashed by a tank would do it. Whatever – I couldn’t depress it enough obviously to get my just reward.

My final sign was just a random thing I saw along the road. This picture doesn’t really do it justice so I inserted a random 8-foot tall Bigfoot in the picture to give a better perspective.

stop

That’s right, here in the tiny hamlet of Haymarket we are now posting stop signs for the master race of 15-foot tall aliens that we will soon all be subjected to. It’s good to plan ahead I guess. But please note that this is actually a stop sign on a BIKE path where the average rider is 6 feet off the ground at most. They now actually have to WORK to see the stop sign.

So that’s my first take on signs? I hope you enjoyed it? Take Care and come back soon for More of these type of signs?

Comments
  1. Hoping there will be a sequel to this; love unusual signs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. writerinsoul says:

    I think this is a good idea?

    Maybe the button will make *you* depressed for 5 seconds. In case you’ve been having too many “good” days.

    Aw, that’s sweet! Big Foot is waving to the Very Tall Bicyclists Society as they zoom by in one of those irritating, several hundred riders packs. Yes?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think that is a common trick of most photographers- inserting an 8-foot Bigfoot image for perspective and scale. I found it really helpful 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. […] week Tim wrote a post on silly signs at his workplace, a follow-up to his earlier post. I enjoyed these, all the more so because I’d been wanting to share with you a couple signs […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

