A Weed is Just a Flower Without a Name

Posted: August 17, 2015 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not a big fan of growing things. Except human beings. And dogs. Even a cat now and then. What I actually mean is that I’m much more of a fan of the fauna, and not the flora. Let’s cut to the chase. I don’t know a redwood from a deadwood. I don’t know a magnolia from a sycamore. And more importantly, I don’t have a clue the difference between a weed and a non-weed.

This final fact comes up several times per year when I dutifully go out and do something ‘manly’ like pulling weeds. This happens very infrequently but there are times when even I can’t stand the look of our landscaping any longer and need to do something about it. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done every single thing I can do to rid our yard of living things as much as possible – recently spending time this summer replacing our mulch with rubber nuggets to trick the growing things into thinking that they can grow, which they cannot. HA! Take that Mother Nature.

Since I can’t tell the difference betwixt a weed and non-weed, I invariably am castigated by other members of this household for pulling something that I shouldn’t have. I go out there with the single-minded plan of getting rid of anything ugly and straggly looking. Imagine my surprise when something like this is actually a ‘non-weed’ (a hosta, apparently). Against my thinking, a hosta is NOT the place where people go to sleep for next to nothing in foreign countries:

non-weed

So let me get this straight – I’m supposed to KEEP a thing like the above, but supposed to pick and throw away like yesterday’s garbage something like this:

weed

I have no idea what it is, but it looks like someone would look at it and say “That’s pretty…” That’s pretty much the guideline I’m using going forward. I utilized this method last week in cleaning out our front flower bed. I call it ‘Survival of the Fittest’ landscaping. If it’s tall or robust or pretty, it stays. If it’s short and straggly, it goes. I would think eventually we’ll turn this bias against some living things around – one small flower bed at a time.

If you’d like to pay me to come over and continue this revolution of gardening, I’d be happy to jump at the opportunity.

Comments
  1. hapidays88 says:

    Let me just say the arrangement of nettles, thisles and hawkweed you chose to keep in the garden are beautiful and really pop without those pesty old coleus and hostas around.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I really love the idea of “Survival of the fittest” landscaping. Actually, I can see many, many ides in our household where I could simply apply “Survival of the Fittest” and save myself a lot of grief. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. roberta4949 says:

    there are alot of weeds I think are pretty too I just think what is a weed or not is indoctrination based on making alot of profit off of selling plants (that are probably considered a weed in another area or country) in lawn care companies nad the like. personally I like dandelions, many animals eat that. parslane, is another I tolerate, (it is edible) the weeds I pull the most are crab grass, ladys thumb, some mallow looking leaves, for the most part out of my beds.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Someone once told me that God gave us the gift of beautiful low-maintenance flowers that would grow almost anywhere all by themselves–and we pulled them out of the ground and called them ‘weeds!’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

