Success In Life: The EZ Method

Posted: November 10, 2015 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , ,

Being the king of the business world as I am widely known to be, I have decided to impart my wise words of wisdom onto the upcoming generation of business leaders. I feel that these life lessons that can be shared will do nothing but help our fine nation’s youth achieve greatness in a very tough environment. I give and I give – and expect only a little bit of nothing in return. This came to me as my daughter is attending her very first meetingbusiness meeting this morning – and she NEEDS to know this.

What I would like to talk to you about today is the words that must be used in any business meeting or interaction with your boss to ensure that you are quickly noticed and respected by those around you. While you may feel that this is a ‘cheat’ in life, I can vouch for the fact that if you randomly throw these words around (used correctly or not – it doesn’t matter) you WILL be noticed and you WILL be promoted more rapidly than the average Joe Worker. I’ve seen this work multiple times in the business world so it’s a proven technique (I’m looking at YOU – and YOU know who you are.)

Further ado I do not have – so let’s proceed. Note that you don’t necessarily need to know what ANY of these mean, and in addition they cannot be used in normal conversation with normal people. They can only be wheeled out in their tiny little word wheelchairs during crucial meetings with your boss.

On with the list:

  1. Paradigm Shift – “This company must be prepared for the paradigm shift that is about to occur.”
  2. Leverage – “We have to leverage the needs of the organization with the needs of the individual.”
  3. Core Competency – “We want to hire someone with the appropriate core competencies.”
  4. Swim Lane – “Make sure that the appropriate people are staying in their swim lanes so that there is no confusion of duties.”
  5. Bleeding Edge – “This new software needs to be at the bleeding edge of technology.”
  6. Tiger Teams – “John needs to create a Tiger Team to look specifically at that issue…”
  7. Core Values – “Company A needs to understand and follow our Core Values.”
  8. Best Practice – “Let’s start developing the product, but make sure you are using best practices for all of the work.”
  9. Scalability – “That’s great, but how is the project’s scalability?”
  10. Think Outside The Box – “Let’s try to put our heads together, and come up with a solution by thinking outside the box.”

You’re welcome – I guarantee you that if you casually throw one or two of these words/phrases around in every meeting you will rise like a phoenix through the corporate residue of detritus.

The same type of logic can be applied if you are ever tasked with naming a shopping mall. I’ve put together a handy list below – simply grab one word from each column and you will immediately be rewarded with a refreshing and happy-sounding mall name.

mall

See? If you can leverage your core competencies and use best practices to ensure that your naming of the shopping center project is successful, then you will be guaranteed to be at the bleeding edge of naming conventions – turning your core values into a successful scalable solution.

Impressive, eh? You’re welcome – enjoy your meeting!

Comments
  1. writerinsoul says:

    Ahaha! Brilliant my friend! Your office lingo scares me though – clearly I have been out of office environments too long (I think I would need to kick *myself* in the pants or at least out of a swim lane should I ever feel the need to utter any of these phrases.)

    Love the shopping mall naming fun! (Peaceful Hill Acres could double as a cemetery.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wish I read this earlier! I’ll put these to use next Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

