Dollop.

Posted: January 7, 2016 in Tim Braun
Tags: , ,

Dollop.

Dollop. Dollop. Dollop.

Dahl-up…. Dial-Up.

Dollop.

Some words just do that to you, right? You want to experience the fun of them over and over again as you deftly roll them out of the back of your throat, down your tongue and out your pie hole. Dollop is one of those words. Incidentally, it’s also an example of a word I like to call a palindrone. That’s a semi-palindrome. This is a term I created to describe a word – like dollop – that isdollop1 almost exactly the same backwards as it is forwards, but really should be considered the same. It’s one of those words that you would find on the Island of Misfit Words – like a spotted elephant or a ‘Bill-in-the-box’.

OK, now I have completely confused myself.

Anyway, the dictionary definition of dollop is as follows:

noun: dollop; plural noun: dollops

  1. a shapeless mass or blob of something, especially soft food.   “great dollops of cream”

verb: dollop; 3rd person present: dollops; past tense: dolloped; past participle: dolloped; gerund or present participle: dolloping

  1. add (a shapeless mass or blob of something) casually and without measuring. “Chekov stopped him from dolloping sugar into his coffee”

Much like many of our other great words, this one originated in the Norwegian dialect. It joins many other amazing Norwegian words we use today like awkward, berserk, fjord, and lemming. I honestly love Norwegians and all they do for us with our pedestrian English language. And who wouldn’t want to use the word dolloping every single day of our lives?

This will come as a surprise to no one, but I have no point in writing about a shapeless mass or blob (other than Donald Trump – BANG!) except that I truly love the sound of the word and the use of it in everyday language.

“Hey, did Bob get you the latest quarterly inventory report yet?”

“Kind of – he just gave me a dollop of the information I asked for…”

Or:

“Hey Bill, have you lost all the weight you wanted to yet?”

“Not quite – I still have a dollop of fat to take off the old love handles….”

dollop2As you can plainly see, it fits easily and succinctly into any sentence that requires a description of a word. I encourage the continued and increased usage of this fantastic gift from the Norwegians. Next year when I renew my driver’s license where it asks for weight? That’s right – “A Dollop.” They’ll ask what it means and I’ll just give them the ‘shapeless mass or blob’ rhetoric. That would explain my weight perfectly, eh?

Please feel free to use this word in casual conversation today at least once. Your friends will be amazed at the flexibility of your vocabulary and the devil-may-care attitude that comes with the correct utilization of the word.

That’s right gang. I just wrote a whole page about the word ‘dollop’. Writer’s block, Schmiter’s block.

Dollop.

Comments
  1. Being of Norwegian ancestry, I really appreciate you noting the Norwegian impact on the English language. Seriously, I have always l.loved the work “awkward” – any word that has a sequence of “wkw” is inherently awkward. Nice work on getting the Donald Trump call out into this blog…very subtle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d like to think I can work Mr. Trump into just about every blog I write. I don’t know if that’s good or bad.

      And thank you for the words from your mother tongue. Thank you also for yet another great word – fjord. One of my other favorites.

      Like

Leave a Reply

