The LAST Pet Peeve…. (?) Maybe.

Posted: April 13, 2016 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , ,

Here’s what you would think. You would think that after three years of posting complaints, concerns and conquests in this blog that I would have nothing left to write about. More specifically, you would think that I would have already covered every major pet peeve of mine that is curled up like a newborn baby in my tiny, ape-like brain. You would almost be right.

Almost.

Sure, I’ve still got time for the random “guy didn’t use a turn signal” or ”girl didn’t say you’re welcome when I said thank you” type of niggling little peeve, but MAJOR ones? Nah.

Wrong.

To set the stage, I called Dr. Margaretha Winslow at the Cash Registers of America/Mexico Institute of Technology (CRAM-IT) to get her take. Here is her quote to me:

“We don’t necessarily train the cashiers of tomorrow on how to hand the money to a patron. We’re more concerned with molding their young minds into possessing the knowledge to subtract 79 cents from a dollar. If we are able to do this, we consider their four years of classes to be well worth it.”

Thank you, Margaretha, for confirming my beliefs. No one is responsible for telling the cashier HOW to hand the change back to me. I see a major opportunity here for an entrepreneur to roll up and start a class that will benefit all of mankind. So what am I talking about?

Imagine you are me. A man with a wallet. Let’s just say I go to McDonald’s and buy a Big Mac, large fries and sweet tea (a purely hypothetical order, I assure you). When the cashier tells me it’s $6.48 I gladly remove my wallet, slide a crisp, new $10 bill over to the cashier and await my change. Note that I’m doing my part for the world and the economy by NOT using a credit card. I think I deserve some kudos for that.

So think of my position. The open wallet now in my left hand awaiting the mating of change to leather. My right hand outstretched towards the cashier eagerly anticipating the arrival of my $3.52 in change.

What does happen:

The cashier competently counts out three one-dollar bills and puts them in my right hand. Then they quickly put Capturethe two quarters and two pennies on top of the paper money. Then they quickly slap the receipt on top of that pile of currency. I’m left standing there will a left hand full of wallet and a right hand full of various denominations of this country’s finest with no way of transferring one to the other. I must put the wallet down on the counter, remove the receipt from the pile and put it in a pocket, slide the change off and dump it in another pocket, and THEN pick the wallet up (if it’s not already been snatched by a McDonald’s customer behind me) and dutifully put the paper currency into its specified wallet-hole.

Ladies and gentlemen – this is a RECIPE FOR DISASTER! Coins sliding all over the paper currency, wallets being stolen, paper being wasted. This madness must stop.

What should happen:

The cashier competently counts out three one-dollar bills, holds them, and then counts out the two quarters and two pennies. They then place the coins in my outstretched hand, place the three dollar bills on top of the change and ASK if I want a receipt. I mean – it’s McDonald’s – even if I was on a business lunch I’d be embarrassed to record for posterity that THAT is where I ate. Then, with the coins cupped in the bottom of my hand, I can still place the bills in my wallet and THEN dump the coins in my pocket in one smooth motion. PLUS – I save the environment once again bCapture1y not generating stupid receipts.

How hard is that?

I have passed this information on to the good doctor at CRAM-IT and am awaiting word on if this technique will be added to their curriculum. I’m hoping for the best.

URGENT UPDATE: I have heard back from the good doctor and am delighted to report that the Board of Directors of CRAM-IT have voted to include this in the normal curriculum for Cashier Training.

You see? This blog CAN change lives.

Comments
  1. Linda Estes says:

    Years ago – cashiers had to count change when handing it to you. That way the coins were always first; then the bills. Ah – the good old days. . . >

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s just it – they DO count it out, but start with the dollar bills first. Maybe that’s the American way – start big and move down.

      Like

      • writerinsoul says:

        I think she means counting it out as in adding up to the $10 figure in this instance, so the proper technique is handing the coin change and announcing “$7” before adding 3 ones while saying “makes $10” or some such.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I guess I’m the opposite. I see a $10 bill and know you need change. I start with the biggest denomination first, and then work down. So lay out three dollars first, then two quarters, then two pennies.

          Like

  2. Jeff says:

    For the 200 level course, I’d like them to pause after the change to allow me to put it in my pocket, then hand I’ve the bills. Understanding that this takes time and finesse to understand the nuance.

    Liked by 2 people

    • As I was doing “research” for this article, I found that one of the pet peeves of cashiers about the buying public is when the cashier is holding their hand out waiting for the customer to put the money in their hand, but the customer just puts the money on the counter. I guess things go both ways.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I so agree with this. The only thing that annoys me more ( I am not sure how this is where you live) is the mile-long receipt/coupon “document” printed out when I purchase groceries. This stream of paper is so long, I can’t fit it into my wallet, I can barely fit it into my handbag. When I go to reach for my keys in my handbag, they end up being entangled in the receipt/coupon document, which is wrapped around other things, and I end up pulling a whole mess of paper/objects out of my handbag.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Ha, I’m so glad to see someone bring this up. It drives me crazy too. And if you have something in your other hand, you’re just plain out of luck. Coins all over the place. Yes, it’s a little thing, but luckily we have you to raise the alarm on these little things. Because they’re so annoying!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

