An Addiction to Pointless Twaddle

Posted: July 14, 2016 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , ,

Three facts about me:

  1. I talk out of both sides of my mouth
  2. I’m addicted to trashy TV
  3. I’m not proud of 1 and 2

To set the stage, my daughter has watched the Kardashian reality shows forever. There must be about 15 of these various spin-offs and hack-offs by now and she has stayed up to date with every one of them. Honestly, I have made non-stop fun of this addiction as I always found the shows to be completely meaningless twaddle based on the lives of people I don’t care about. I mean, how could ANYONE watch this and be entertained? Shouldn’t you be outside playing in the backyard? Shouldn’t you be studying for your next test? Shouldn’t you be cleaning your room?

Now we get to Points 1, 2 and 3 above.

I’m now addicted to the “Below Deck” series of shows on Bravo TV. If you’re not familiar with these, we are now firmly in the fourth season of this pointless twaddle and I LOVE IT! The basic premise of these shows is following the crew members of a mega-yacht as they entertain luxury guests on their various charters. It’s riveting honestly and I’m not Capturesure why. Do I relate to these people? Absolutely not. Do I honestly care about these people? Nope. Yet I still find myself watching weekly (yes, waiting with bated breath) the aforementioned twaddle.

I guess I pay MORE attention to the guests who come on the yacht, spending upwards of $200,000 for a 2-3 days cruise, and demonstrating the perfection of the technique of being absolute jerks. While the main theme of the show is following the crew members, I find it fascinating that these ridiculously wealthy people come on board and act basically no better than the frat guys I couldn’t stand at my college. Unbelievably spoiled and pointless.

So that’s it. Not tremendously exciting or full of meaning this time. This is just a long-winded apology to my wonderful daughter for continually making fun of her viewing habits.

Watch it. Live it. Love it.

Oh – and I love the word “twaddle”.

Comments
  1. writerinsoul says:

    And you use “twaddle” excellently here.

    Like

  2. Being the twaddler that I am, I have to sadly admit I have spent time watching the show Below Deck.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

