The Joy of A Golden Flaky Crust

Posted: November 2, 2016 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , ,

This is going to be a short but important post. I have discovered (not that it was lost, I guess) the veritable nectar of the Gods. The juice of Methuselah.  The nourishment of Nebuchadnezzar.  The sustenance of Solomon. It was in my hands, I ate it, and I approved wholeheartedly.

Just as quickly as I discovered this little slice of heaven, it rapidly retreated back into the sands of the Sahara. I can’t find it anywhere. Do I really have to travel 100 miles to get this? Don’t think I won’t do that, Missy.

So what is this decadent, delicious delicacy?

pic1

Here’s a more detailed picture of this amazing work of art:

pic2

If there are three words that were made to go together in this all-too-short life we have – they are ‘chili’, ‘pot’ and ‘pie’. The Marketing geniuses even put them in the most favorable order to ensure maximum excitement and anticipation. Bravo to you Ms. Callender. Some may call you Marie, but I will not go down to that level of informality, because I think you have proved with this incredible treat that you deserve more respect.

I’ve had a life-long fascination with pot pies and can still remember breaking into the pie crust of the little Banquet frozen pies with glee. Beef, Chicken, Turkey – it didn’t matter. Every bite (unless you got one of those chewy pieces of meat that came along once it a while) was a celebration in your mouth. If you didn’t like these, you weren’t cool growing up on the tough inner city streets of Indiana.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this chili pot pie was. The flaky crust, the perfect blend of spices, the delicate balance of meat vs. beans – all combining to jump start my brain into a new level of enjoyment. But I won’t.

Because now I can’t find them anywhere. I’ve tried Mr. H. Teeter (Harris for his friends) with no luck. I have tried Walmart with no success. I have tried Giant with no windfall. Believe it or not, Amazon doesn’t even sell this variety. No one in Northern Virginia has these gold-medal winning meals. I found it in an out-of-the-way market in Harrisonburg, Virginia and don’t think for a second that I’m opposed to heading back down there and stocking up on 10-12 of these beauties.

So that’s my current obsession. Chili Pot Pie. Do with that what you will.

Comments
  1. David says:

    Did you check the expiration date? How old WAS it? I’ll look around here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg Dad ew that looks so gross

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

