Signs, Signs, Everywhere There’s Signs

Posted: December 15, 2016 in Tim Braun
Tags: , ,

Welcome to the last blog of 2016. Of course what else could it be about but a snarky comment on a stupid sign? Today we bring you to that brick and mortar edifice that displays all of America’s finest characteristics to the rest of the Free World – Walmart. Honestly (and amazingly) I don’t think I have ever previously made fun of anything related to Walmart, because frankly I have no problem with them and their crazy low prices. Maybe I’M part of the problem you say…. and maybe you’re right.

Now this sign isn’t necessarily BAD – it’s just confusing. I was standing at the Walmart prescription counter waiting for a prescription to be filled (obviously) when my eyes beheld this wondrous sight mounted on the front of their counter:

walmart

I’m sure some of you left-brain people will be all up in my grill saying they completely understand this sign – and after reading it 64 times I understand it as well.  But it DID take me 64 times…well, actually 62, then I had to read it again to make sure I understood it, and then I had to read it AGAIN to confirm how proud of myself I was to have understood it.

Again, it’s not a BAD sign…it’s just that it could have been made so much clearer for the vast populace of Walmart shoppers. A little punctuation here and there, a split of the lines a little bit more appropriately, and even the non-use of bold-face letters could all have contributed to a much more satisfying Walmart shopping experience.

And who isn’t after a more satisfying Walmart shopping experience.

On a final note, thanks to all the support I’ve received for this blog over the last 3 or 4 years. I really do appreciate those of you who read this absolute drivel. It’s the kind comments and loyalty that keep me from keeping all of these notes inside my own head, which wouldn’t be healthy for anyone.

So keep reading and I’ll stay on the lookout for confusing signs, new types of breakfast cereal, and the latest brilliant innovations from fast food restaurants. 2017 is guaranteed to be quite a turbulent, confusing and even scary year but hopefully McDonald’s can develop a new sandwich that will get us all through the clouds and storm. Until then, have a great Holiday season and I’ll see you in the New Year!

Comments
  1. writerinsoul says:

    I got it on one read (boasting) but in my mind I automatically change the last line to something like …”while Pharmacist is getting drunk. ”

    And — I’m really glad you blog. I’ll be reading in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

