The Wisdom of Mr. Joel – LOL

Posted: February 16, 2017 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , ,

You might have heard I run with a dangerous crowd
We ain’t too pretty, we ain’t too proud
We might be laughing a bit too loud
But that never hurt no one

No one ever accused Billy Joel of NOT being a brilliant songwriter. The lines above are strangely prophetic in many ways about my life, but probably not entirely the way you imagine. I certainly don’t run with a dangerous crowd, I AM too pretty and I AM too joelproud. No, what I’m talking about is the very next line – laughing a bit too loud.

As an aside, this song also has one of the most embarrassing lyrics that I, as a 12-year old child, could listen to in front of my parents. Confused? Here it is:

The stained-glass curtain you’re hiding behind
Never lets in the sun

See what I mean? Of course you do. As my pre-adolescent ears always heard it (and keep in mind that this was before the internet existed where you could quickly check lyrics) I heard always interpreted Mr. Joel as saying “nipplelets in the sun”. Now, neither I, nor anyone ever, knew or knows what a ‘nipplelet’ truly was or is, but in my kid-induced haze I KNEW it wasn’t something I wanted to talk about with my parents riding in the car while listening to AM radio.

But I digress.

Why was the first lyric that I quoted above so prophetic? Because I can’t even begin to tell you how much it annoys me when people laugh a bit too loud – or more exactly – a bit too LONG. I was in a meeting the other day and I told one of my typical hilarious jokes during the pre-meeting banter. Everyone got a good chuckle, but this one poor fella near about had a conniption in his giddy-up because he was laughing so long and loud at my good humour. (Another digression – I’m going to start writing in British so that I can add some class to this blog).

I’m not talking just a second or two – it probably went on a hilariously awkward 5-6 seconds past everyone else while we just sat and stared at him waiting for his nostrils to explode. If you’ve never seen nostrils explode, take it from me that it’s worth waiting nosefor. Unfortunately, he stopped himself prior to sinus launching.

So why do people laugh so loud and so long? Can’t they see everyone watching them waiting for them to stop? While I admit my humour can be, well, humourous at times, by no means do I expect the receivers of this humour to suffer nasal injuries as a result. I guess that going foreward I’ll have to hold back my really good stuff in meetings so as not to encourage this type of behaviour.

Don’t worry though – my blog will still cause this same type of reaction to your mucus membranes – I’ll just let you do it in the comfourt of your own home.

Comments
  1. I think your blog should replace some of the various employee training sessions I have had to attend. I think you have a way of really addressing how people should conduct themselves at work 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. writerinsoul says:

    What we have here is a case of laughing insincerity, no? Isn’t that what makes it uncomfortable to listen to?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

