e.e. cummings does xx

Posted: April 20, 2017 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m very easily confused. I mean VERY. Not just ‘very’ in the traditional sense of “Where did I leave my car keys?” kind of very, but more along the lines of global metrological catastrophe ‘very’. That’s right, I’m the giant tsunami of be

ing confused.

Recently I heard a band referring to themselves as ‘The xx’. After doing painstaking and extensive research, I determined that xx actually means “where there is a will, there is a way”. It is apparently the Viking symbol for inguz. Now when I looked up Inguz, I found out that it can also mean men’s health and fertility.

 

What does this have to do with the band? Band names probably mean something to someone at some time, but frankly the oft-quoted reason for Pearl Jam’s odd name bores me to tears (you’ll have to Google it because I’m so bored with it I can’t even type it.) Just play music and keep the creative juices on THAT side of the equation.

Back to me being confused. Just after I was listening to ‘The xx’ on one station, I flipped to another station and who should come on? ‘XX’. It kinda sounded the same as ‘The xx’ but was it just a mistake by whomever was typing out the band names on the little screen? How could there be TWO bands named ‘The xx’ and ‘XX’.

By the way, does ‘The xx’ remind you of that HORRIBLE poet – e.e. cummings – that we all had to learn about in elementary school? This is one of his finest works:

 

 

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

                                                      i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you
Note the edgy use of odd punctuation, line spacing, and lack of capitalization. Note the art form that he has created using this brilliant methodology to draw his readers in.

Oh – and note that the ‘poem’ doesn’t make any sense and is a complete and total pile of chicken feathers.

Anyway, back to the ‘xx’ or ‘XX’ – turns out that they ARE the same band, but while researching I found these other bands:

The xx
XX
XX 2
XXI
XXI.
The Xx’s

Stunning that I’m a little bit confused, eh? Let’s try to think up some better names there folks. Take a clue from ‘Chicano Batman’ and ‘The Neighb’rhood Childr’n’. Now THOSE are original.

 

Comments
  1. ds says:

    That’s it?! I thought you were just getting started.

    Like

    • I give and I give – and the fans just keep wanting more. What’s a fella to do – give you more e.e.cummings? Trust me, NO ONE wants that. Stay tuned for my next high-octane cereal review….hint: Frosted Flakes with a twist.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Did you have to capitalize HORRIBLE to compensate for the favored lower case of ee cummings 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know … I cannot believe I let you do this to me. I actually went and googled Pearl Jam’s name. I don’t like their music, I really don’t give a shit … but I thought there might be a story there (I didn’t believe you were bored because you protested so much). So that’s a whole shit given for something about which I still don’t give a shit.

    Also, some ee cummings is brilliant. I went looking for one that I love, and instead found this one, which is stunningly erotic and so beautiful!

    i like my body when it is with your
    body. It is so quite new a thing.
    Muscles better and nerves more.
    i like your body. i like what it does,
    i like its hows. i like to feel the spine
    of your body and its bones,and the trembling
    -firm-smooth ness and which i will
    again and again and again
    kiss, i like kissing this and that of you,
    i like, slowly stroking the,shocking fuzz
    of your electric furr,and what-is-it comes
    over parting flesh….And eyes big love-crumbs,

    and possibly i like the thrill

    of under me you so quite new

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oddly however, that ee Cummings poem could easily have been lyrics to a Pearl Jam song! I have to admit I’m just not a huge poetry fan anyway – it seems like most poets are just wanna be musicians who don’t know how to write music.

      What bothers me most however is the lack of capitals. I see no point in it.

      Like

      • I agree … I’m not educated enough regarding poetry to understand why this was considered such a huge breakthrough. On the other hand, when reading a Cummings poem there’s a sense of uninterrupted flow that seems to be enhanced by the lack of capitals and the absent or odd punctuation. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. I find his work interesting.

        I used to write poetry and don’t know why I stopped. Some of it was even quite good. I used to read it too, and don’t know why I stopped that either. The music is in the words and mental images. Songs reach you in a different way … If they’re good, the music and/or the words pick you up and take you where they want you to go. With poetry, it’s more solitary. More of what happens is inside your head. It’s a bit like the difference between a good book and a good movie … To me, it’s meaningless to say one is better than the other. They’re different.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

