CHOP – A Journey Into An Artist’s Mind

Posted: June 1, 2017 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , ,

As many of you know, I’m a great fan of the arts. Be it attending a magnificent performance of Swan Lake, viewing a virtuoso performance of “Rigoletto” performed in an 18th century theatre, or simply wandering through the stunning landscape of a modern art gallery – I am basically the most artistic person you will ever meet. As such, when a splendid piece of art trickles through my wide-eyed glare I have to take a minute and literally catch my breath. That’s what happened today.

I was sitting in a typical Wednesday-like morsel of a meeting trying to determine what I was doing with my life. That wasn’t the subject of the meeting, and in fact I have no idea what the actual subject of the meeting truly was. It just popped up on my calendar and commanded me to call a certain number, punch in a certain code – and boom. Instance boredom. While I was looking around the room for another way out my eyes fell upon a picture hanging on the wall that both captivated and intrigued me. What did it all mean? What was it all about? After the meeting was god-blessedly over, I got up and walked over to get a better look:

I mean this was brilliant! It HAD to be because old Lia Fendenb signed it in pencil in 1981! This was truly a dazzling piece, and its beauty and impact was only magnified by its dynamic title – CHOP. That really says it all, right? I’m sure you are now going to say that you made something like this in 3rd grade art, and while you would be completely correct – you did NOT call it CHOP and so you are basically a failure. The strategic use of the letter ‘U’ is genius. Don’t kid yourself – you were expecting a ‘K’ there right? That’s the beauty of Mr. or Ms. Fendenb’s work. The unexpectedness, the willy-nilly devil-may-care kind of attitude with the chopped pieces of paper. Everything.

While the picture is undoubtedly brilliant, you are missing (with the above picture) what really makes this great. It wasn’t the picture itself – it was how it was framed. The amazing use of white space to draw the viewer’s eye to ‘U’ can only be displayed by a full-frame picture. So ladies and gentlemen, without further ado I give you the true experience of CHOP:

Once again, the off-centeredness drags the viewer’s eyes, almost with no struggle, to the tiny pieces of shredded paper. The white space does nothing but focuses with intent on Mr. or Ms. Fendenb’s artwork. I’m thinking that the art shop that framed this was running on fumes for frames and needed to get this back to my company ASAP – so they grabbed the absolute biggest frame they had and cut a tiny hole. They then explained to my company that it was ‘art’ and that ‘all the big guys are doing it like this’ now and my company was like ‘oh….okay….thanks!  This is brilliant!’

Thank you Mr. or Ms. Fendenb for giving me yet another reason to write a blog.

Comments
  1. Such a metaphor for some things going on at my work right now. We are producing giant, giant frames with little to no content, proclaiming, “Look at this art.” All the while some of us are squinting, perplexed at exactly what we should be looking at- the frame? the mat? the tiny, tiny piece of “art”?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. writerinsoul says:

    You know your “second career” as a mysterious, mystical artist is just begging to be started.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

