Noah’s Irk

Posted: September 21, 2017 in Tim Braun
Tags: , , , , , ,

OK, I have to admit that I’m only writing this blog today because I really liked the title. I’m sure that’s why Shakespeare wrote a lot of his ‘classical literature’ as well – I mean who doesn’t love the titles ‘Merchant of Venice’ or ‘A Midsummer’s Night Dream’. I’m 98.9% positive that he came up with these titles first – and then had to think of an accompanying story to fit into that title.

So who is Noah? Is it this guy?

I mean seriously – did anyone watch this movie? I’ll flip by it occasionally in the outer regions of the movie channels and see rock people (not like Steven Tyler or Axl Rose – people like actually MADE of rock) rising up and smiting people left and right, and think to myself – where in the Bible does it say there were rock people smiting others? That’s how my brain works. I use the word “smiting” a lot for some reason. Along with “exodus” for another good Bible word. I’ll get up out of a meeting halfway through and say to no one in particular….”I’m making my exodus now – let my people go…”

So what has spurred this obviously drivel-driven brain dump? I got the following message this morning in my WordPress account from someone we’ll call Noah – we’ll call him that because that apparently is his name:

Hello,
After following a link in your (presumably) old Instagram I came across your website and a means to contact you. I am interested in acquiring your Instagram username @battlewagon. Seeing as how your account only has 2 posts and the most recent being over 3 years ago, I am guessing you don’t actively use the account anymore. I would be very interested in using the Instagram username @battlewagon. Please let me know if you’d be willing to give up the username so that I could start using it.

Thank you,
Noah

It’s a well-written message (unlike this blog) and i respect his request. But what would spur someone to do all of this investigative work just to get a stupid Instagram username? While it’s true that I don’t use it any longer, I somewhat feel that like George Washington, like Abraham Lincoln, the Instagram username of ‘battlewagon’ will forever live in the annals of history – and I want to be at the forefront of that annal. What is an annal? It’s not a word – that’s what it’s NOT….but if you can have annals signifying more than one annal, then shouldn’t there just be an opportunity for a single, solitary annal to wander along the road and say hi?

See why I don’t post much anymore?

In answer to Noah – no, you cannot have my Instagram name. I don’t use it and I don’t think anyone should to honor the legacy of my 2 posts.

Thank you.

 

Comments
  1. writerinsoul says:

    I wouldn’t want to give it up either. We have so little.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

